Kim DQ’s Himself at the HSBC Champions

Anthony Kim was disqualified Sunday from the HSBC Champions for playing with an altered driver.

Kim accidentally hit a sprinkler head as he tapped his driver on the ground while walking down the seventh fairway.

“I wasn’t angry or anything, just walking down the fairway,” Kim said. “The toe hit the sprinkler, hit the top of the sprinkler, and I looked at it and it looked a little bit different. But I wasn’t sure and I put it in my bag.”

At the eighth, he hit his first drive only 150 yards, and out of bounds. He then hit a second provisional shot — also poorly. He took a triple-bogey 8 on the hole and played two more before he found a rules official, who told him he must disqualify himself for playing with an altered club.

Kim was disqualified under rule 4-3b, said Andy McFee, European tour referee.  Sorry Anthony.


One Reply to “Kim DQ’s Himself at the HSBC Champions”

Comments are closed.