Jim Furyk Disqualified from the Barclays

jim furykApparently Jim Furyk, the #3 ranked player going into the first playoff event this weekend, has been DQ’d for missing the pro-am this morning.  Here’s the scoop.

Aug. 25, 2010

By PGA TOUR staff
PARAMUS, N.J. — Jim Furyk, ranked No. 3 in points going into the PGA TOUR Playoffs for the FedExCup, has been disqualified from The Barclays after missing his pro-am tee time Wednesday morning.
Furyk was scheduled to tee off at 7:30 a.m. ET in Wednesday’s pro-am but failed to show. The Associated Press reported that Furyk uses his cell phone as an alarm clock, but when he woke up Wednesday, he realized he had no power on his phone.

TOUR policy is that any player missing a pro-am time except for injury or family emergency is ineligible to play in that week’s tournament.
The DQ does not eliminate Furyk from the Playoffs, but it does eliminate an opportunity to solidify his spot going into the next event, the Deutsche Bank Championship held next week at TPC Boston.
According to the TOUR’s Playoff scenarios, Furyk could drop as far as 19th on the points list after The Barclays, depending on how others perform this week. Maintaining a top-five position in the Playoffs is important because the top five heading into the final Playoffs event, THE TOUR Championship presented by Coca-Cola, can win the FedExCup simply by winning that event.
Furyk was scheduled to play with No. 1-ranked Ernie Els and No. 2 Steve Stricker in the first two rounds on Thursday and Friday.

That’s one of those “what the hell was I thinking moments”, that we all have.  Unfortunately, this one will probably cost Jim hundreds of thousand of dollars.  Time to wake up and smell the coffee Mr. Furyk…literally.  Next time just set the damn alarm clock or get a wake up call. 


4 Replies to “Jim Furyk Disqualified from the Barclays”
  • Ronald
    August 25, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    Where was his caddy? Or, have I got it all wrong and his caddy just can’t/doesn’t do that sort of thing?

  • Christian • Post Author •
    August 26, 2010 at 1:14 am

    Ha ha, yeah not sure where Fluff was. I doubt he sleeps in the same room as Jim, but you’d think that when he was seriously late, he’d come bang on the door or something.

  • Stan
    August 27, 2010 at 7:41 am

    I’m speechless… never in a million years i thought THIS would happen to pros… to Jimmy for that matter. Sir Nick Faldo yesterday had suggested that the board may need to review this rule as it is a bit harsh… i agree. A one or two shot penalty maybe..? but DNS…? hmmm.

  • golf trolley
    November 28, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    why, i love him.

Comments are closed.