Yes, John Daly is in the news again, and it’s not because he finally won a tournament, shot a course record, or even made a cut. No, big JD managed to knock himself right out of the Austrian Open today after he decided it would be better to just quit and go home, than to accept a 2 stroke penalty for an incorrect drop.
The error came on the 15th hole when Daly was attempting to take relief from a T.V. tower that was in place for the tournament. Apparently he did not take “full relief” under the rules, and his subsequent drop was too close to the tower he was trying to gain relief from. Unfortunately, Daly did not find out there was a problem with the drop until he and his playing partners had already started on the 16th hole. Officials called Daly back to the spot where the drop took place and had him explain exactly where the drop occurred. The ruling was that he did not take full relief from the tower and when Daly was told that the penalty was 2 strokes, he replied “I’m Done”, and proceeded to shake his fellow competitors hands and took off for the parking lot.
I for one wouldn’t be surprised if there was an interview in the parking lot in which John professed that he’s quitting the game for good (again). The guy obviously has some non-golf related issues going on if a two stroke penalty causes one to walk off the course. Sure he did put a ball in the water on the two holes prior to the drop incident, but he was only 4 over for the tourney. I guess sometimes enough is enough. If I walked off the course every time I had to take a penalty stroke, I’d never get 9 holes in.